Grow up already

1 Corinthians 13:11-12 (NKJV)

11 When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things. 12 For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.

There’s something disturbing about adults today.  Men and women from their 30’s well through their 60’s are stuck in a retarded adolescence.  I wonder what the world looks like to our seniors.  How do they perceive their children and grandchidren’s generations?


We have so much in this country.  We have an endless supply of toys.  We’re obsessed with having fun.  In fact, we are entertained to the point where value now seems to be scaled on how much physical pleasure we get out of something.


To be sure, I’m just as guilty.  I’ll admit that I have a soft spot for going to the movies (though my wife and I have vastly different tastes) or ogling over ridiculous things that I don’t need and can’t afford.


That’s not to say that I think these things should be restricted or banned.  You have the right to choose how to spend your time and money.


But we are doing our children and grandchildren an injustice by not showing them a better way.  Too often we sacrifice long term good for short run satisfaction.  My mother always told me that everyone has 24 hours each day.  Time is one of the most precious commodities we have and also the great equalizer.  Some choose to sleep for 1/2 the day.  Others labor for wealth morning, noon and night.  And still others devote their lives to making the world a better place.


We, meaning I, need to redeem the time that we have.  

3 responses to “Grow up already

  1. Now you have me examining my life. Thanks a lot.For real, though. Awesome thoughts.

    Like

  2. Like I said – still something I wrestle with daily. You don't hear much today, even from many so-called evangelical Christians, about the dangers of Idolatry. Maybe it's just an American Christian thing. No idea if Christians in Kenya struggle with these same issues.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Just a quick update | txfatherofseven

Share your thoughts!

