One more quick note tonight

I often take for granted the assurance and peace that I have as a believer in Christ.  Maybe ‘taking for granted’ is not the right description.  What I mean is I often overlook the fact that non-believers don’t share that same peace.  I can take comfort in the fact that I know how this story ends.  That’s not to say the middle is not important.  How we live should be a reflection of our utmost given to Christ as a result of our salvation – to give Him all Glory, Honor and Praise because He alone is worthy.

So nations can crumble. Earthquakes can shatter the foundations of civilized society.  Dirty politicians can sell us into indentured servitude.  These would be horrible, and we should do everything within our power to protect our nation, our people, and uphold peace and liberty.

Someday, my body will be turned to dust.  My name will be a faint memory.  The things I’ve accumulated will vanish or end up in a landfill somewhere.

But my spirit will live on throughout the endless ages.

Am I looking at the lost souls wandering around me with contempt?  As my political enemies?  Competition for my chances of gaining wealth?

1 Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. 2 And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.  1 Corinthians 13:1-3 (New King James Version)

Help me, Lord, to show mercy, compassion, and love.

4 responses to “One more quick note tonight

  1. Our pastor referenced this scripture last Sunday. But before that, he made the comment that “you cannot backslide so far that Jesus cannot reach you,” meaning there is always hope for the truly repentant because of God’s great love for us. I looked up “mercies” in my concordance and was drawn to this chapter:

    Lamentations 3

    19 I remember my affliction and my wandering,
    the bitterness and the gall.
    20 I well remember them,
    and my soul is downcast within me.
    21 Yet this I call to mind
    and therefore I have hope:

    22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
    23 They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
    24 I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion;
    therefore I will wait for him.”

    The greatest of these IS love … this scripture gave me so much comfort to know that no matter what happens today, tomorrow, next year … God is in control, He loves us without limits, and even though dangerous and frightening things may happen in this world we live in, He is always there for us. May we become more Christ-like in the love we show others, and may it be without measure. May the saved and unsaved see Him in us.

    Like

  2. Amen! These are great thoughts.

    Like

  3. The challenge I often face is balancing standing up for righteousness according to Biblical truth and having Love and Compassion for the lost. Love the sinner, hate the sin, yatta yatta . . .

    I think this is especially true when dealing with professed Christians. It’s one thing when you’re dealing with an atheist or Muslim or Humanist. You don’t expect them to abide by God’s Word or even understand it. So when they try to corner you and pull a single verse of Scripture out of context, I am not surprised.

    But when I see people who claim to believe on Christ and behave in a manner contrary to the Bible, it’s particularly frustrating and tough to process.

    Like

    • Wow, did you hit the nail on the head! I struggle with how to respond when my brothers and sisters in Christ argue against what to me is the clear teaching of the scriptures.

      Our good friend Tom wrote a post on his blog that got me thinking about this: http://freeradical08.blogspot.com/2012/02/how-do-we-disagree.html
      Tom and I don’t share the same faith, and he’s actually talking here about how to persuade people to the side of liberty, but he makes some excellent points. It’s easy to get all fired up when we disagree, but a kind, respectful attitude goes a long way toward being heard and understood.

      Like

Share your thoughts!

